Health care´s a bitch!

20 september 2009 Sarah

On my very first day of school, I was told that I had to buy a mandatory school health insurance. The insurance was super-expensive, about 500 dollars per semester!!! I tried to explain, over and over again that I already have a Swedish health insurance that will cover everything, and the answer I got was ”No, the Swedish ones aren´t as good, our insurance is much better, it will cover more”. Fine I though and got the insurance. I actuallt didn´t have much choice since they wouldn´t enroll me in any classes until I payed up.

So the other day I had to go to the doctors. It was just a short standard check-up and it was over within five minutes. The bill for this was 250 dollars!!! 250!!! And guess what? When I called the insurance company they told me that my wonderful all-american insurance will not cover all of it! Aren´t I glad I payed 500 dollars for it? So I´m not a big fan of American Health Care right now. Nor am I a big fan of CSUF. By the way, ironically, my swedish not-as-good-insurance will actually cover this. God bless ”Kammarkollegiet´s Student-Ut” insurance.

I havn´t had the best of weeks, me and Kim got a car which turned out to be a bit of a hassle. I´m trying not to think about it, but we´re getting it fixed and I´m sure it´ll work out. An advice for all my friends that are in the states at the moment: DO NOT trust anyone on Craigslist ( US-version of ”blocket”). Anyhow, as soon as we get it fixed I´ll post some pics.

My friend Natalie is getting married to her fiancee Josh next year and this friday, we went to a huge bridal shop to get her Bridal dress. Me and two of her closest friends acted as jury and after a couple of hours, she found the dress of her dreams. Now, as you all guys know, it´s bad luck for the groom to see the bride before the wedding, so I´m not posting any pics of her dress but believe me when I say that it was gorgeous!! Here´s a pic of the grand jury reaching its final verdict:

The jury: Daniella, Yvonne & me

The jury: Daniella, Yvonne & me

Some well-deserved Yogurtland yum!

Some well-deserved Yogurtland yum!

For those of you that haven´t yet heard of Yogurtland, I´ll tell you about it sometime, but it needs its own post =) For now, lets just say that it´s a desert, straight from heaven. Delicious.

After coming home, we went to Huntington Beach to see Natalie´s new apartment, which was ONE block from the beach and it was increadible! Real nice apartment just a few feet from the ocean. We had the yummiest dinner at the well-known ”Sharkeez” where they make some really good margaritas. As you may know by now, I LOVE frozen margaritas. Back home in Sweden, you pretty much have to talk a bartender into making you one, they think it´s ”too much work” but here, they sell ’em everywhere! After dinner, we went to a pub called Hurricane and had some more margaritas. Being sorta sensitive to alcohol, I didn´t feel so good after a few drinks so we decided to go home, but we had a lot of fun, and it sure was a great night!

@ Hurricane

@ Hurricane

Drunk on frozen margaritas =)

Drunk on frozen margaritas =)

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

One Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jessica  |  22 september 2009 kl. 17:19

    Frozen margaritas, -that´s my girl!😉


Kommentera

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

About me


Glad och målmedveten 27-årig tjej som läser till apotekare i Uppsala. I augusti börjar mitt fantastiska år som utbytesstudent i OC i Californien! Here we go!!!

Arkiv

My twitters

Latest comments

Jessica on San Diego and Fall Break!
Jessica on Hollywood Glam?
Linda on Halloween in Hollywood!!
naffe on Back from Paradise!
Jessica on Back from Paradise!

Blogroll

 
