Freak Show @ the beach!

10 september 2009 Sarah

Hope you had a great labor day weekend! I had some studying to catch up on so I didn´t really do much, but we went to Venice Beach on saturday, a well-known beach in the Los Angeles area. Venice is known as a hangout for the creative and artistic, but oh my god what a freak show it was! Weird people everywhere, so much to look at! There was actually a show called ”the freak show” with a two-headed turtle, cyclops pigs ( born with one eye in the middle of their face and so on and so on…we were to scared to go in, maybe next time haha.

It was a pretty fun place though, the beach was beautiful and some of the apartments on the beach were really nice! Venice Beach is actually a place for many film shootings, last one I saw was ”I love you, man” in which one of the scenes was from the Venice Beach bordwalk.

I had two quizzes in school this week, and it was a lot harder than I thought it would be! One of the quizzes was actually bigger than most of my final exams back home which came as a sursprise to me (not like a christmas-eve-yay-surprise, more like a dead-fly-in-my-coffee-sursprise), it was pretty hard and so many questions! I did ok though. But unfortunately I´m coming to realize that I do have to study pretty hard this year, which wasn´t in my original plan.

I have to do a medical exam for my SCUBA class this week, NOT looking forward to it at all. It´s like a whole day at a doctors office doing all kinds of test including lung X-ray, bloodwork and other stuff that I just hate. I might just drop the SCUBA class instead. Oh, me and Kim are thinking about getting a car. When I lived in Miami, I did more than fine not having a car. It´s not the same here. You HAVE TO have a car in California. The bus traffic is just useless here, it takes an hour to get a cab and man, do they stare at you when you walk or ride your bike. So we might just get a car.

Here are some pics from this weekend, and before I take off : CONGRATS to my dear friends HANNA and OLLE back home, they had a baby boy last week and he´s so cute!

Venice Beach boardwalk

Venice Beach boardwalk

Venice

Venice

The peace/mariuana man

The peace/mariuana man

Man with tiny horse

Man with tiny horse

The Snake-lady

The Snake-lady

Two-headed turtle

Two-headed turtle

LA fire department on the beach

LA fire department on the beach

The actual beach

The actual beach

Kim walking along the shore!

Kim walking along the shore!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andreas&Sandra  |  10 september 2009 kl. 20:25

    Hej våra kriminela små varelser ;p ser ut som att ni storm trivs där. Saknar er.

  • 2. Jessica  |  11 september 2009 kl. 6:36

    Kan jag få en tvehövdad sköldpadda i födelsedagspresent?

  • 3. Emma  |  11 september 2009 kl. 11:28

    Haha, bra beskrivet där! Jag var helt i chocktillstånd när vi åkte till Venice. Trodde det skulle vara en lite finare strand… Not so much visade det sig=)


Kommentera

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

About me


Glad och målmedveten 27-årig tjej som läser till apotekare i Uppsala. I augusti börjar mitt fantastiska år som utbytesstudent i OC i Californien! Here we go!!!

Arkiv

My twitters

Latest comments

Jessica on San Diego and Fall Break!
Jessica on Hollywood Glam?
Linda on Halloween in Hollywood!!
naffe on Back from Paradise!
Jessica on Back from Paradise!

Blogroll

 
